Navigation and service

Congratulations to the ABC/J-awardees 2018!

This year, three young female scientists from the Forschungszentrum Jülich, the University of Bonn and the University of Cologne received the ABC/J Young Academics Award for outstanding, innovative and interdisciplinary research in the geosciences and geography.

© deagreez/stock.adobe.comCopyright: deagreez/

First prize went to Dr. Shurong Liu from the Jülich Agrospheres Institute (IBG-3) for her dissertation on the topic Coupled biotic-abiotic mechanisms of nitrous oxide production in soils during nitrification involving the reactive intermediates hydroxylamine and nitrite. The second prize was awarded twice this year. Dr. Nele Meyer (INRES, Bonn) on Sensitivity of soil organic matter turnover to temperature and nutrient supply and Dr. Aljona Blöcker from the Institute of Geophysics and Meteorology at the University of Cologne (topic: Modeling Io's and Europa's Plasma Interaction with the Jovian Magnetosphere: Influence of Global Atmospheric Asymmetries and Plumes).

Supporting early-career scientists is a fundamental concern of Geoverbund ABC/J. First prize is endowed with € 1,000 in prize money, while further awards are presented for second (€ 750) and third (€ 500) place. The subject of the competition is research activity with a geoscientific or geographical focus; dissertations or publications may be submitted.

Further informationen: